top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Caffeinated Reader

Library Of Souls


There are so many thoughts and feelings I have in regards to The Miss peregrines home for peculiar children series. This series has made me feel that same wonder and magic I felt when I opened a Harry potter book for the first time, Ransom Riggs has created a universe so full of magic and curiosity its hard not to be engrossed in every word on the page.

The third book in his series was no different if anything Riggs brought more to the table when it came to peculiardum. There was even light shed on the shall we say dark and twisted, for as we all know that every society comes with its sordid past and seedy misdoings. Ransom takes us through this not only with a further look in to the wights and Hallowgasts' but to the deepest darkest corners of loops. we are introduced to an all new cast of peculiars' expanding the world more than i could have ever imagined . With all of that aside there were faults that i found in the book that lowered the rating for me, no great work is without flaw. There were moments within Jacob, Emma, and Addisons journey to rescue Miss Peregrine that dragged for me where I was able to actually put the book down and step away from this novel. Something that in the first two book I was not able to do. I credit this to the actual lengthy travel the children made as well as some overly fantastical moment in which I was unable to suspend my disbelief for the time being but those are just a "me thing". Secondly there were moment were the plot lined was a little muddled for me, or thing were just a little to convenient to move the story along. The ending felt all and all a little to neat for my liking after such an epic odyssey. These few point are what led me to my current rating of 4 out of 5 stars. I will 100% be continuing with this series, Map of days is already sitting on my shelf waiting to be read. If you haven't already i highly suggest you pick up this series !

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page