top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Caffeinated Reader

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children


From the moment I heard about this book the premise enticed me. A boy scarred by a the untimely death of his eccentric story telling grandfather, in search of the truth about what really killed his grandfather. It so fantastical yet so dark at the same time. Jacob I will say at first is a character that i had a hard time connecting with because of his age and his economical status in the world ( can't relate to the whole rich kid vibe) But he grew on me with the progression of the story. He is a TYPICAL teenage boy self centered and angsty and I really loved watching him grow as a character in within this story. While I did feel like the first half of the book was very slow moving the second half of the book is where the ball really started rolling !

Some of my favorite moments where involving the peculiar children and how they live there day to day life within there time loop. That is where the story really sucked me In. All and all this was a great first installment to the series. And I highly encourage you to muscle through the slow world building because its worth it in the end . All and all I gave this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars and I sincerely recommend it to anyone looking for a darker fantasy that is an easy and entertaining read.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page